Conference will be held at Hotel DOMUS MARIA is established in the very heart of Vilnius Old Town, in 16th century buildings comprising an impressive architectural ensemble: The Gate of Dawn and the Blessed Virgin Mary Mother of Mercy Chapel with miraculous icon of the Virgin Mary, and the early Baroque church of St. Theresa. The architectural ensemble has an irregular form, adapted for the defensive fortifications of the city.
DOMUS MARIA hotel opened its doors in Vilnius in May of 2003, in a building that was once used as a monastery. You will feel quite special by staying in rooms that are subtly furnished in the former monastery cells.
Conference room will feature 18th century frescoes and unique architectural style.
Hotel Address: Ausros vartu street 12, Vilnius, Lithuania, 01304
FOLLOWING THE THE FOOTSTEPS OF HISTORY…
The hotel DOMUS MARIA is located in a former monastery of the Discalced Carmelites.
The monastery was built in 1621–1627, at the initiative of Vilnius’ mayor and his brother. The ground floor of the main building consisted of monks’ cells, a refectory (dining room), a kitchen, a storehouse, a barn and a bakery, and cells on the other floors. The building had paintings and frescoes, which decorate the Great Hall to this day. A novitiate operated in the monastery from 1703 to 1723, and later studies of philosophy were held here.
The monastery suffered damage during the wars of the middle of 17th and the beginning of the 18th centuries. In 1844 the monastery was closed and handed over to Orthodox monks. A school for girls operated in the monastery from 1861 to 1915, and from 1918 to 1931 the monastery buildings were used as a hostel for girls (students, craftsmen, maids) and as a crafts workshop supported by Lithuanian charity societies. After the Second World War (1939–1945), the monastery housed the Vilnius Engineering Institute.